Dennis Chamber Announces 5K Race Winners

Inaugural run attracted 140 runners from Massachusetts and beyond

DENNIS - The inaugural run of the Dennis Festival Days 5K Road Race, hosted by the Dennis Chamber of Commerce, attracted 140 runners from across Massachusetts and beyond, with runners coming from as far away as Ontario, Canada, and the states of New York, New Jersey, Georgia, Ohio, Virginia and most of New England. The race took place on Monday, September 4th, Labor Day, in Dennis.

"We consider our first road race a great success," said Melissa Farrell, President of the Dennis Chamber. "We attracted both very competitive racers as well as the casual runners, and everyone seemed to have fun." The race was sponsored by TD Banknorth.

"We consider our first road race a great success." - Melissa Farrell

The winners included Geof Newton of Yarmouthport, the top men's finisher with a time of 17:29. The first place women's finisher was Lynn Johnson of North Attleboro with a time of 19:53.

In the Junior Boys Division , J. Pallazola of Yarmouthport placed first, with a time of 18:58 and Julia Grover of Cotuit lead the Junior Girls Division with a time of 25:52.

Brad Lebo of Portsmouth, NH, finished first in the Senior Men's Class coming in at 18:08 and Mary Peabody of Dennis paced the Senior Women's Class with a time of 22:13.

The winners received specially designed Dennis Festival Days medals. All race participants' places and times can be found at, the premier runners website for the region.

One noteworthy participant in the race was Doug Bennett, candidate for State Senate. He finished 4th in the Men's Division and 15th overall with a time of 21:49. He ran the 5K dressed in a business suit and tie. welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on