And you thought Kerry & Delahunt weren't working hard for us?

The nation is waging wars on two fronts, deficit shoots through the ceiling...
Congressman Delahunt sponsors a bill to require recognition of baseball players

By Walter Brooks

This week New York Sen. Schumer introduces a Bill to Impose Criminal Penalty for Unauthorized Recording of Advanced Imaging Technology at Airport Screenings and, our Sen. John Kerry was a co:sponsor.

We have been unable to verify the rumor that Venezuelan President Hugo Chavez is minting a coin to honor retiring Congressman Bill "Joe-for-oil" Delahunt.

In another move, Mr. Kerry introduced legislation (S. 4046) to amend title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 to "establish provisions with respect to religious accommodations in employment."

The bill was introduced on Dec. 17 and was referred to the Senate Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions Committee.

His bill has no co:sponsors.

This bill is in the first step in the legislative process. Introduced bills and resolutions first go to committees that deliberate, investigate, and revise them before they go to general debate. The majority of bills and resolutions never make it out of committee.

Meanwhile, over in the House of Representative, our Congressman Bill Delahunt was into more fun stuff.

He co:sponsored a Bill to Require Coins Be Minted to Recognize National Baseball Hall of Fame.

Gee, we'll all miss Mr. Bill.

Senate Bills introduced this past week:

Sen. Charles Schumer, D-N.Y., has introduced legislation (S. 4037) to "impose a criminal penalty for unauthorized recording or distribution of images produced using advanced imaging technology during screenings of individuals at airports and upon entry to federal buildings."

The bill was introduced on Dec. 16 and has nine co-sponsors. Co-sponsors include Sens. John F. Kerry, D-Mass., Daniel K. Akaka, D-Hawaii, Richard J. Durbin, D-Ill., Ben Nelson, D-Neb., Robert Menendez, D-N.J., Amy Klobuchar, D-Minn., Sheldon Whitehouse, D-R.I., Jeanne Shaheen, D-N.H., and Jon Tester, D-Mont.

The legislation was referred to the Senate Judiciary Committee.

House Bills introduced this past week:

Rep. Michael Doyle, D-Pa., has introduced legislation (H.R. 6534) to require the Secretary of the Treasury to "mint coins in recognition and celebration of the National Baseball Hall of Fame."

The bill was introduced on Dec. 16 and has 191 co-sponsors. Co-sponsors include Joe L. Barton, R-Texas, Gary L. Ackerman, D-N.Y., John H. Adler, D-N.J., Jason Altmire, D-Pa., Michael Arcuri, D-N.Y., Joe Baca, D-Calif., Marion Berry, D-Ark., Sanford D. Bishop Jr., D-Ga., Timothy H. Bishop, D-N.Y., John. A. Boccieri, D-Ohio, Leonard L. Boswell, D-Iowa, Robert A. Brady, D-Pa., Russ Carnahan, D-Mo., Ben Chandler, D-Ky., Yvette D. Clarke, D-N.Y., Wm. Lacy Clay Jr., D-Mo., Steve Cohen, D-Tenn., Gerald E. Connolly (VA), D-Va., John Conyers Jr., D-Mich., Jim Cooper, D-Tenn., Jerry F. Costello, D-Ill., Joe Courtney, D-Conn., Mark Critz, D-Pa., Joseph Crowley, D-N.Y., Elijah E. Cummings, D-Md., Kathleen A. Dahlkemper, D-Pa., William D. Delahunt, D-Mass., Joe Donnelly, D-Ind., Donna F. Edwards, D-Md., Keith Ellison, D-Minn., Sam Farr, D-Calif., Chaka Fattah, D-Pa., Marcia L. Fudge, D-Ohio, Bart Gordon, D-Tenn., Gene Green, D-Texas, Luis V. Gutierrez, D-Ill., John J. Hall, D-N.Y., Deborah L. Halvorson, D-Ill., Phil Hare, D-Ill., Alcee L. Hastings, D-Fla., Martin Heinrich, D-N.M., Stephanie Herseth Sandlin, D-S.D., Roscoe G. Bartlett, R-Md., Judy Biggert, R-Ill., Brian Bilbray, R-Calif., Marsha Blackburn, R-Tenn., Roy Blunt, R-Mo., John A. Boehner, R-Ohio, Henry E. Brown Jr., R-S.C., Steve Buyer, R-Ind., Shelley Moore Capito, R-W.Va., Anh "Joseph" Cao, R-La., John R. Carter, R-Texas, Michael N. Castle, R-Del., Howard Coble, R-N.C., Mike Coffman (CO), R-Colo., Tom Cole, R-Okla., K. Michael Conaway, R-Texas, Charles W. Dent, R-Pa., Jo Ann Emerson, R-Mo., John Fleming, R-La., Jeff Fortenberry, R-Neb., Virginia Foxx, R-N.C., Trent Franks, R-Ariz., Rodney P. Frelinghuysen, R-N.J., Scott Garrett, R-N.J., Jim Gerlach, R-Pa., Louie Gohmert, R-Texas, Bob Goodlatte, R-Va., Tom Graves, R-Ga., Brett Guthrie, R-Ky., Ralph M. Hall, D-Texas, Wally Herger, R-Calif., Peter T. King, R-N.Y., Steve King, R-Iowa, Jack Kingston, R-Ga., John Kline, R-Minn., Doug Lamborn, R-Colo., Steven C. LaTourette, R-Ohio, Christopher John Lee, R-N.Y., Frank A. LoBiondo, R-N.J., Donald A. Manzullo, R-Ill., Michael T. McCaul, R-Texas, Baron P. Hill, D-Ind., Paul W. Hodes, D-N.H., Tim Holden, D-Pa., Rush D. Holt, D-N.J., Jay Inslee, D-Wash., Steve Israel, D-N.Y., Jesse L. Jackson Jr., D-Ill., Paul E. Kanjorski, D-Pa., Marcy Kaptur, D-Ohio, Dale E. Kildee, D-Mich., Mary Jo Kilroy, D-Ohio, Ron Kind, D-Wis., Frank Kratovil Jr., D-Md., Dennis J. Kucinich, D-Ohio, Daniel Lipinski, D-Ill., Nita M. Lowey, D-N.Y., Ben Ray Lujan, D-N.M., Daniel B. Maffei, D-N.Y., Carolyn B. Maloney, D-N.Y., Betsy Markey, D-Colo., Doris O. Matsui, D-Calif., Carolyn McCarthy, D-N.Y., Betty McCollum, D-Minn., Mike McIntyre, D-N.C., Michael McMahon, D-N.Y., Gregory W. Meeks, D-N.Y., Brad Miller, D-N.C., Dennis Moore, D-Kan., Gwen Moore, D-Wis., Christopher Murphy, D-Conn., Patrick Murphy, D-Pa., Grace F. Napolitano, D-Calif., Richard E. Neal, D-Mass., Glenn C. Nye, D-Va., James L. Oberstar, D-Minn., Solomon P. Ortiz, D-Texas, Bill Owens, D-N.Y., Ed Pastor, D-Ariz., Thomas S.P. Perriello, D-Va., Pedro Pierluisi, D-P.R., Jared Polis, D-Colo., Earl Pomeroy, D-N.D., Mike Quigley, D-Ill., Silvestre Reyes, D-Texas, Laura Richardson, D-Calif., Mike Ross, D-Ark., Steven R. Rothman, D-N.J., Lucille Roybal-Allard, D-Calif., Bobby L. Rush, D-Ill., Timothy J. Ryan, D-Ohio, John F. Salazar, D-Colo., John Sarbanes, D-Md., Thaddeus G. McCotter, R-Mich., Howard P. "Buck" McKeon, R-Calif., John L. Mica, R-Fla., Candice S. Miller, R-Mich., Jeff Miller, R-Fla., Tim Murphy, R-Pa., Erik Paulsen, R-Minn., Thomas E. Petri, R-Wis., Joseph R. Pitts, R-Pa., Todd Russell Platts, R-Pa., Tom Price, R-Ga., David G. Reichert, R-Wash., Dana Rohrabacher, R-Calif., Thomas J. Rooney, R-Fla., Steve Scalise, R-La., Aaron Schock, R-Ill., Pete Sessions, R-Texas, John Shimkus, R-Ill., Bill Shuster, R-Pa., Christopher H. Smith, R-N.J., Lamar S. Smith, R-Texas, Cliff Stearns, R-Fla., John Sullivan, R-Okla., Todd Tiahrt, R-Kan., Patrick J. Tiberi, R-Ohio, Michael R. Turner, R-Ohio, Fred Upton, R-Mich., Greg Walden, R-Ore., Zach Wamp, R-Tenn., Robert J. Wittman, R-Va., Mark H. Schauer, D-Mich., David Scott, D-Ga., Allyson Y. Schwartz, R-Pa., Jose E. Serrano, D-N.Y., Brad Sherman, D-Calif., Heath Shuler, D-N.C., Louise McIntosh Slaughter, D-N.Y., Jackie Speier, D-Calif., Bart Stupak, D-Mich., Betty Sutton, D-Ohio, Gene Taylor, D-Miss., Harry Teague, D-N.M., Mike Thompson, D-Calif., Dina Titus, D-Nev., Paul Tonko, D-N.Y., Edolphus Towns, D-N.Y., Niki Tsongas, D-Mass., Chris Van Hollen, D-Md., Nydia M. Velazquez, D-N.Y., Peter J. Visclosky, D-Ind., Timothy Walz, D-Minn., Henry A. Waxman, D-Calif., Anthony D. Weiner, D-N.Y., Peter Welch, D-Vt., Lynn C. Woolsey, D-Calif., and John A. Yarmuth, D-Ky.

The legislation was referred to the House Financial Services, and Budget committees. welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on