Breakaway owner Ken Foster receives annual Abraham Penn Community Award

Foster was nominated for the prestigious award by the Dennis Chamber of Commerce
Ken Foster (second from right), president of Breakaway in South Dennis was given the 16th annual Abraham Penn Community Service Award. Dennis Chamber photo.

The Dennis Chamber of Commerce announced Wednesday that their nominee, Ken Foster, is the recipient of the 2014 Abraham Penn Community Award. Foster is the president of Breakaway in South Dennis. 

The annual Abraham Penn Community Award is named for Abraham Penn who founded Puritan Cape Cod in 1919. Penn's business was bolstered by two principles: service to customers and service to the community. 

This year, the 16th year the award has been given, Ken Foster was chosen as the Cape Cod business person who best exemplifies those principles. Foster opened his first Breakaway store in 1986 in South Dennis and has since opened two other locations, one in Mashpee and the other in Centerville. 

To best serve his customers, Breakaway offers the Breakaway Advantage which provides every person who buys a new grill with free assembly, pickup of the old grill and a full tank of propane, according to the Dennis Chamber.

To serve the community, Foster created the X-Grill in 2008. The self-proclaimed Dr. of Grillology, Foster fashioned the mobile monster grill out of a retired oil delivery truck.

Each year, Foster donates his time, grilling expertise and the X-Grill to more than fifty events and fundraisers. "Ken dedicates most of his weekends to community service helping to raise funds where they are needed most by local organizations all over Cape Cod," said Dennis Chamber Executive Director Spyro Mitrokostas.

Foster received his award at a reception at Puritan Cape Cod on Main Street in Hyannis, Wednesday morning. Members of the Penn Family were present at the reception, as were the Dennis Chamber representatives who nominated Foster. Puritan of Cape Cod presented the Dennis Chamber with a $1,000 in Foster's name for nominating this year's recepient. welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on