March 5: A day of empowerment for Cape women

Cape Cod's 1st Women's Conference to be held at Sea Crest Beach Hotel in Falmouth

Thursday, March 5 will be a day of empowerment for women who join together for the first ever Cape Cod Women's Conference in Falmouth. The conference, which is organized by Driven Women, will be held at the Sea Crest Beach Hotel in Falmouth from 8 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

A diverse group of women from different cultures and disciplines will have the opportunity to share their ideas and learn from successful women in a variety of fields. The day features a panel discussion. breakout sessions, workshops, vendors and much more.

The morning panel discussion features some of the Cape's most dynamic female movers and shakers--all a irst in their field--including Dorothy Savarese, President & CEO of Cape Cod Savings Bank; retired State Senate President Therese Murray; Cape Cod Chamber CEO Wendy Northcross; former President of Cape Cod Community College Kathleen Schatzberg; Dr. Portia Ndlovu of Mass. Maritime; MA State Trooper Tanya Hick and Mashpee Fire Department Lt. Nicole Stanley.

The event's founder Marie Younger Blackburn, owner of Simply Black & White Event Planning, hopes to empower women to be the change in their own community. "Through response already generated, we are expecting an overwhelming success," Blackburn said.

The keynote speaker is Kathleen O'Keefe Kanavos. Kanavos, a three-time breast cancer survivor, is the author of "Surviving Cancerland" and partner, creator and co-host of Wicked Housewives of Cape Cod on Cape Cod Community Television and Blog Talk Radio. 

Tickets and a complete schedule for the day are available on the Driven Women website. Tickets are $75 in advance or $99 at the door. Sea Crest Beach Hotel is at 350 Quaker Road in North Falmouth. welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on