Yarmouth Chamber honors local businesses

Multiple awards presented
DeWitt Davenport receives Yarmouth Chamber of Commerce's "Business of the Year" award from YCC board president Jim Saben. Photo courtesy of Yarmouth Chamber of Commerce

The Yarmouth Chamber of Commerce (YCC) hosted their Annual Meeting and Awards Dinner on Wednesday, October 26th at The Loft Restaurant in West Yarmouth.

The room was filled with attendees and among them were State Representative Tim Whelan, Select Board Member Tracy Post, and Select Board Member Eric Tolley. The presenting sponsor for the event was the Whydah Pirate Museum. Barry Clifford of the Whydah Pirate Museum gave a sneak peek into the life of a real pirate and explained how Yarmouth was the perfect location for the museum. The event was hosted by Kevin Richards and Kathy Gianno of The Loft.

The YCC presentation was a look back at the accomplishments of 2015-2016 and how the Chamber will continue to grow, support, and invest in the businesses of Yarmouth. Marketing Director, Ashley Cormier said, “The Annual Dinner presentation was so important for our members and partners to see how much the Chamber has been able to accomplish and what our future goals look like. The Board of Directors and the YCC Staff will continue to work hard for our members to ensure that Yarmouth maintains a robust economy.”

On the agenda was acknowledging outgoing board members: Kenneth Smith of Red Jacket Resorts, Ed Goodwin of Thirwood Place, and Jack Hynes of The Yarmouth Resort; voting in new board members: Erick Cooper of Cooper Landscaping, Kristina Dittmer of the Optimist Cafe, Christine Jones of IFAW, Ryan O’Loughlin of The Davenport Companies, Carrie Moore of Cape Cod 5, and Emily Davis of Glivinski and Associates; and presenting the Business of the Year Award to The Davenport Companies and the Citizen of the Year Award to Stanley Kaczynski.

Executive Director, Mary Vilbon said, “We are so pleased to recognize our award recipients this year. They are both extremely deserving and the Chamber as well as our community are fortunate for their dedication to Yarmouth.”

The Davenport Companies proudly accepted the “Business of the Year Award” and had a short presentation to show the growth in the company over the past 60 years. DeWitt Davenport C.E.O., The Davenport Companies introduced the presentation and gave credit to Beth Patkoske, Director of Communications, The Davenport Companies.

Stanley Kaczynski accepted the Citizen of the Year Award for his commendable dedication to “cleaning up” the Town of Yarmouth. Kaczynski inspired this year’s past Annual Community Cleanup Day with the Yarmouth Chamber of Commerce that lead to over 70 participants!

The Yarmouth Chamber of Commerce recognized Peter Johnson-Staub for his many years of service to the Town of Yarmouth as the Assistant Town Administrator.

CapeCodToday.com welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on CapeCodToday.com.