CCCC welcomes 53 new members to Phi Theta Kappa

High achievers inducted into international honor society
CCCC student Taylor Schaub (center) is joined by family, friends following her induction into the Alpha Upsilon Mu Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa. CCCC photo.

Fifty-three outstanding Cape Cod Community College students were inducted last week into  Alpha Upsilon Mu Chapter, Phi Theta Kappa (PTK). PTK is an international honor society of Associate's Degree granting colleges around the world.  Students must have earned at least a 3.5 grade point average (GPA) to be eligible for membership, and then must maintain at least a 3.25 GPA throughout their studies at CCCC to remain a member in good standing.

This is the 25th academic year that Cape Cod Community College has welcomed members into its chapter of Phi Theta Kappa.  Far more than simply an academic honor society, PTK emphasizes the importance of: Leadership, Scholarship, Fellowship, and Service, and challenges all of its members to excel in all areas on and off campus. Chapter members support the College by volunteering as tour guides, event ushers, and peer tutors, as well as organizers of their own events. The Chapter presents its “Golden Apple Award” annually to an outstanding faculty member selected by its membership. In this year’s ceremony, the chapter honored Professor Delores Bird of Pocasset, with this year’s prestigious award.

This Spring’s inductees come from a wide geographic region covering 15 towns. Inducted in the Thursday March 9th 2017 ceremony were (in order by town):

  • Andrea Hutter -- Brewster
  • Erika Joseph -- Brewster
  • Ryan Boatman – Buzzards Bay
  • Luke Clougher – Buzzards Bay
  • Joseph Breitstone -- Centerville
  • Olivia Caprio -- Centerville
  • Michael Villa -- Centerville
  • Catherine Henry – East Falmouth
  • Susan Perkins – East Falmouth
  • Julia Scussel – East Falmouth
  • Joel Williamson – East Falmouth
  • Jon Schirtzinger – East Sandwich
  • Aryna Fulcher -- Eastham
  • Nicholas Miceli -- Falmouth
  • Madison Campbell -- Forestdale
  • Evan Kaigle -- Harwich
  • Stephen McCarty -- Harwich
  • Stacey Reese -- Harwich
  • Taylor Schaub -- Harwich
  • Margaret Stephens -- Harwich
  • Christian Antoine – Harwich Port
  • Laura Campbell – Harwich Port
  • Andrew McKnight -- Hyannis
  • Ludmyla Monteiro -- Hyannis
  • Toni Panczyk -- Hyannis
  • Terri Person-Neves – Hyannis Port
  • Elizabeth Menna -- Hopkinton
  • Ethan Anderson -- Marion
  • Emma Comp – Marstons Mills
  • Karen Sokel – Marstons Mills
  • Courtney Guidetti -- Mashpee
  • Julie Hughes -- Mashpee
  • Olga Kavaliou -- Mashpee
  • Kelsey Leary -- Mashpee
  • Kimberlee Schafer - Mashpee
  • Shy Jackson – North Falmouth
  • Marjorie Merrill -- Orleans
  • Emily Plumb -- Pembroke
  • Collin Moriarty -- Plymouth
  • Jennifer McDonald -- Sandwich
  • Jessica Desnoyers -- Somerset
  • Michelle Rzasa – South Chatham
  • Christopher Dickey – South Yarmouth
  • Max Gray – South Yarmouth
  • Autumn Boots-Faubert -- Teaticket
  • Priscilla Muchai -- Wareham
  • Elizabeth DellaMorte – West Barnstable
  • Adrian Aguilar – West Yarmouth
  • Morgan Evans – West Yarmouth
  • Michael Giannetti – West Yarmouth
  • Olivia Lifsey – West Yarmouth
  • Angelina Martin – West Yarmouth
  • Hristo Petkov – West Yarmouth welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on