Southcoast Health Introduces Five New Trustees

Five outstanding leaders...

Southcoast Health announced Wednesday that five new members have been appointed to the Board of Trustees for Southcoast Health System, Inc. and Southcoast Hospitals Group, Inc. Dr. Salman Bashir, Christopher M. Hodgson, Elizabeth C. Huidekoper and Helena DaSilva Hughes each began a three-year term in December. As the current Chair of the Southcoast Health Medical Executive Committee, Dr. Daniel Sousa began a one-year term as an ex-officio trustee in December, as well.

The role of the Boards of Trustees for Southcoast Health System and Southcoast Hospitals Group is to exercise the fiduciary responsibility to the communities it serves, ensure that the healthcare offered by Southcoast Health is of the highest quality, and ensure that its care is delivered in the most cost-effective, efficient and compassionate manner possible.

The new members of the Boards of Trustees are:

Dr. Salman Bashir, a partner in Southern New England Radiology, has been on the Southcoast Health Medical Staff since 1999. Dr. Bashir served as the St. Luke’s Hospital Medical Staff President from 2015 to 2017. 

Christopher M. Hodgson, owner of Coastal Financial since 1999, is an accredited Certified Financial Planner (CFP), Certified Family Business Specialist (CFBS) and Certified in Long-Term Care (CLTC).

Elizabeth C. "Beppie" Huidekoper is the former Executive Vice President for Finance & Administration at Brown University, where she served from 2002-2015.

Helena DaSilva Hughes is the Executive Director of Immigrants’ Assistance Center (IAC) in New Bedford. She has worked with the immigrant community for over 32 years and was promoted to Executive Director in 1996.

Dr. Daniel Sousa has been practicing pulmonology in the Fall River area since 2004. He serves on the Fall River Board of Health, and is currently President of the Charlton Medical Staff, in addition to his role as Chair of the Southcoast Health Medical Executive Committee.

Four members left the Southcoast Health Boards of Trustees this past December. These members include:

Joseph Ciffolillo, retired Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of Boston Scientific Corp., served as a trustee since 2014.

Dr. Philip H. Knight, partner in Upper Cape Anesthesia, P.C., and retired member of the Tobey Hospital Medical Staff; served as ex-officio trustee in 2017.

Dr. Jean MacCormack, the inaugural president of the Edward M. Kennedy Institute for the United States Senate, served as a trustee since 2003. She is the former Chancellor of University of Massachusetts Dartmouth where she worked for 12 years.

Carl W. Taber, Executive Vice President, BayCoast Bank, served as a trustee of since 2005. welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on