Assembly Delegates Failed to File Election Campaign Finance Reports

4 have filed, 9 have not, 2 have not registered to file...

Each year, holders of county offices are required to file a year-end campaign finance report with the Massachusetts Office of Campaign and Political Finance

The filing deadline for the 2017 year end report was January 22, 2018, so we decided to take a look at the filings for some of our Barnstable County elected officials.

All data in this story is from searches conducted January 23, 2018 at 09:30.   You can search the filing database here.

Those Who Did File

The filings for all three County Commissioners are current, as are the filings for the County Sheriff, Register of Deeds and Register of Probate.

Four members of the Barnstable County Assembly of Delegates have filed timely campaign finance reports:

  • Barnstable - Patrick Princi - filed 1/21/18
  • Bourne - Linda Zuern - filed 1/10/18
  • Chatham - Ronald Bergstrom - filed 1/9/18
  • Harwich - Ed McManus - filed 1/17/18 

Those Who Have Not Yet Filed

Nine members of the Assembly of Delegates are registered with the campaign finance office but their records do not show a 2017 year-end filing.  Those members are:

  • Dennis - John Ohman - last filed 10/24/16
  • Falmouth  - Susan Moran - last filed 7/19/17
  • Mashpee - Thomas O'Hara - last filed 2/13/17
  • Orleans - Christopher W. Kanaga - last filed 1/20/17
  • Provincetown - Brian O'Malley - last filed 1/23/17
  • Sandwich - James Killion - last filed 1/19/17
  • Truro (Deputy Speaker) - Deborah McCutcheon - last filed 2/9/17
  • Wellfleet - Lilli-Ann Green - last filed 1/4/17
  • Yarmouth (Speaker) - E. Suzanne McAuliffe - last filed 1/16/17

Those Who Have Not Registered

Two members for the Assembly are not registered with the campaign finance office.  A spokesperson at the campaign finance office confirmed this morning that all holders of elected county office, even those who were elected by write-in ballot or those appointed to fill a vacant elected office, are required to register with their office and are responsible for year-end filings.

  • Brewster - Mary Chaffee
  • Eastham - Edward Atwood

Late Filers Face a Daily Fine

A fine of $25 per day is automatically assessed on those who have not filed year-end reports on time.  These fees can reach $5,000 per calendar year and are the personal responsibility of the candidate.  Late filing fines may not be paid with campaign funds. welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on