Step Back in Time at the West Dennis Cemetery Tour

July 13th at 10 a.m.
West Dennis Cemetery monument for Luther Crowell, who lived in the recently-restored and now very colorful Victorian home diagonally across from the West Dennis Library. This is the largest stone in the cemetery. (Photo by Charlie McGibbon)

Local historian Terri Fox will guide visitors on a revealing and entertaining walk through Cape Cod history at the West Dennis Cemetery at Fisk and Pond streets on Friday, July 13, at 10am.

Highlights of the free tour include anecdotes and stories that chronicle some of the most prominent 19th and 20th century citizens of West Dennis, including keeper of the light Warren Crowell, Jr., who was the first to man the lighthouse when it opened at West Dennis Beach in 1855; sea captain Obed Baxter III, who built the now-endangered local landmark today called The Columns on Route 28; blacksmith and noted viol player Browning Kelley Baker, who outlived his four wives; and the seafaring Fisk brothers, who pooled their wealth to open Trotting Park Racetrack, a noted entertainment and gambling venue, in the late 1800s. Visitors will also see the gravesites of a half dozen West Dennis fishermen fatally caught in a devastating December 1853 storm.

There is no parking in the cemetery itself. The rain date for this tour is Sunday, July 15, at 2pm.
 


CapeCodToday.com welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on CapeCodToday.com.