Keating: Dennis Fire Department Awarded $521,274 Grant

FEMA's Assistance to Firefighter Grant program...
Congressman William Keating

From the office of Congressman Bill Keating:

Washington, DC – Today, Congressman Bill Keating announced that the Dennis Fire Department has been awarded $521,274 from the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s Assistance to Firefighter Grant Program (AFG).   The funds will be used to purchase protective gear and communications equipment. Congressman Keating and Dennis Fire Chief Mark Dellner both commended FEMA Region 1 staff for their work in reaching out to departments across the Ninth District to educate them about the various available fire grant programs.

“The AFG Program is a great support to our fire departments and I congratulate Dennis on this latest award,” said Congressman Keating.  “The much-needed equipment this grant will purchase will keep our firefighters safe as they work to keep the rest of us safe.”

“Thanks to Congressman Keating for his continued support of the FEMA Assistance to Firefighters Grant Program,” said Dennis Fire Department Chief Mark Dellner. “Although the Town of Dennis and the community as a whole strongly support its Fire Department, the FEMA Fire grant systems are a tremendous resource to help our communities support firefighter operations and safety. I also wish to recognize Dennis Deputy Chief Robert Brown for his hard work in helping to develop and prepare our AFG grant for this period and David Parr of DHS/FEMA Region 1 in Boston for his important work on helping our communities understand the programs mission and requirements on all the FEMA grant programs.” welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on