New England Police Benevolent Association Endorses Senator Cyr

Cites legislative accomplishments supporting law enforcement in statement
State Senator Julian Cyr

TRURO -- Today, State Senator Julian Cyr (D-Truro) announced the endorsement of the New England Police Benevolent Association (NEPBA) in his campaign for re-election.

“The NEPBA has a history of supporting those candidates, from both sides of the aisle; they feel they can trust to have their backs when it comes to law enforcement issues,” said Martin Conway, President of the NEPBA. “After hearing from our MA Legislative Committee about Senator Cyr’s positions on a wide array of issues, the Executive Committee makes this endorsement without reservation.”

“I am honored to have earned the support of the NEPBA,” said Senator Cyr. “One of the most critical functions of our government is keeping people safe, and I am proud of what we’ve accomplished together to ensure police and first responders have the resources they need.”

Conway continued: “It is Senator Cyr’s continued support of public safety personnel, and all who work in public service that is most important to our members and their families.”

Today, Senator Cyr will receive the Legislator of the Year Award from the Massachusetts Police Association at their annual gathering. During his first term, Cyr worked with colleagues in the Cape and Islands delegation and across the aisle to secure $10 million in dedicated funding for the Municipal Police Training Fund, which will provide resources to local law enforcement for trainings to ensure the continued safety of our communities.

NEPBA represents close to 4000 Law Enforcement Professionals here in Massachusetts including Police Officers, Correctional Officers and Support personnel from State, County and Municipal units. welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on