DY Field Hockey Team Honored

Citations presented by Rep. Crocker, Whelan...
Members of the 2018-19 Dennis-Yarmouth Field Hockey Team. (Courtesy of Rep. Crocker)

From the Office of State Rep. Will Crocker...

BOSTON - The 2018 Division 2 State Champion Dennis-Yarmouth Field Hockey team was honored on Tuesday December 18, 2018 at halftime of the DY Girls Basketball team.

Members of the team along with their coaches, Mary O’Connor and Karen Olander, were presented citations from Congressman William Keating’s office, Cape and Island State Senator Julian Cyr’s office, and from State Representatives Will Crocker and Tim Whelan, who were on hand to make the presentation to the team. Also present were Dennis-Yarmouth Superintendent Carol Woodbury, Assistant Superintendent Ken Jenks, and Principal Tony Morrison. Athletic Director Paul Funk served as Master of Ceremonies.

The team completed an undefeated season capped with a 3-2 victory over Greenfield High School on November 17th for their first State Title since 1987.

Representative Crocker and Whelan praised the team and their coaching staff saying that the win, “is something that no one will ever be able to take away from you.”  Crocker added that, “Years from now you will be able to look back and remember this time and your teammates with a sense of pride in a job well done.” Representative Whelan noted that, "The state championships earned recently by the D-Y Field Hockey and Football teams, as well as the Marching Band & Color Guard, have earned the school the nickname of “Title-Town”."

CapeCodToday.com welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on CapeCodToday.com.