Senator Julian Cyr Sworn in for Second Term

Gives speech seconding nomination of Senator Spilka for re-election as Senate President
Cape & Islands State Senator Julian Cyr speaking in Senate chamber Wednesday. (Courtesy photo)

(Boston, MA) — Senator Julian Cyr was sworn in yesterday for a second term representing the Cape and Islands district, as part of the inaugural activities for both the Massachusetts House and Senate.

Senators gathered in the newly renovated Senate chamber on the third floor of the State House for the first time since May, 2017.  They were joined for the swearing-in by U.S. Senator Elizabeth Warren, U.S. Senator Ed Markey, Governor Charlie Baker, Lt. Governor Karyn Polito, Attorney General Maura Healey, Treasurer Deborah Goldberg, Auditor Suzanne Bump, Boston Mayor Marty Walsh, Framingham Mayor Yvonne Spicer, and the members of the Governor’s Council.

During the Senate’s swearing-in ceremony, Senator Cyr gave an introductory speech to nominate Senator Karen Spilka for Senate President. Senator Cindy Creem also spoke nominating Spilka.

Here is a video of Senator Cyr’s remarks:

“I am grateful to the voters of the Cape and Islands district for their trust in me, and the honor to represent our region for a second term on Beacon Hill,” said Senator Julian Cyr (D-Truro). “It was especially humbling to be asked by Senate President Spilka to give a speech to nominate her to lead our chamber. We have much work ahead this session in the Senate, and Senate President Spilka will bring a bold vision and a proven hand in leading us.”

Cyr and his office will now be focused in the coming weeks on preparation for the January 18th bill filing deadline, when Senators and Representatives file bills for consideration during the 2019/2020 legislative session. welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on