22 Correctional Officers graduate from Sheriff’s Academy

Joining ranks of Barnstable County Sheriff's Office...
Barnstable County Sheriff James Cummings swears in a new class of corrections officers. (Courtesy of Sheriff Cummings)

BOURNE – On Friday evening, twenty-two men and women joined the uniformed ranks at the Barnstable County Sheriff’s Office as Correctional Officers.

Sheriff James Cummings addressed the new correctional officers and approximately two-hundred people who attended the ceremony at Cape Cod Community College’s Tilden Arts Center:

“Tonight’s graduates will join our corrections staff in operating a safe and secure correctional facility, supervising inmates on a round-the-clock basis. These individuals are sentenced to our facility by the courts of Barnstable County as punishment – not for punishment.  Today’s role of the Sheriff’s Office is more than security; we have a responsibility to rehabilitate the inmates to deter their return to jail once released.”

The 11-week academy included physical training and defensive tactics as well as hands-on problem solving and inmate contact, instruction that gives graduates a concrete start as they report for duty.  Recruits were taught how to write reports, detect suicidal behavior, supervise and interact with inmates of all types, administer first-aid/CPR.  They were also instructed in firearms training, handcuffing and other restraint techniques, ethics and professionalism, gang identification, and fire safety.

The following individuals graduated on Friday and received their silver correctional officer badge:

  • Christopher Barlow          Fall River
  • Jonathan Bennett             Harwich
  • Christopher Cochran        Sandwich
  • Byron Davis                        Mashpee
  • Gregory Djaoen                New Bedford
  • Dakota Eno-Proulx           South Dennis
  • Shawne Gomes                 Plymouth
  • Sean Lowe                         Falmouth         
  • Natasha Lyon                    West Harwich  
  • Jason Mahoney                 Centerville
  • Liam Mahoney                  Westfield
  • Lorrie McDaniel                Cotuit  
  • Brendan Meehan              Somerset
  • Robert Ortega                   Worcester        
  • Ryan Pina                           West Wareham
  • Paul Pitts                            Holbrook
  • Edwin Polanco                  New Bedford
  • Brienchard St. Fleur          West Yarmouth
  • Kyle Stecchi                        Mashpee
  • Elgin Stewart                     Hyannis
  • Tyler Walsh                        South Easton   
  • Brandon Weston              West Barnstable

The class president was Corrections Officer Jason Mahoney; class vice president was Christopher Cochran; class treasurer was Lorrie McDaniel; and class secretary was Natasha Lyon.

CapeCodToday.com welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on CapeCodToday.com.