Nantucket Student Recognized at Wesleyan University Spring Prize Reception

Another local student makes her hometown proud...

MIDDLETOWN, CT - Kate Macken of Nantucket was honored at Wesleyan University's spring prize reception on May 8. Macken received the following award(s):

Skirm Prize - Established by members of the Class of 1931 in memory of their classmate, Thomas H. Skirm, this prize is awarded to a government major early in his or her senior year, to recognize the best research or writing project done during the junior year.

Macken, a member of Wesleyan's Class of 2019, is majoring in Feminist Gender and Sexuality Studies and Government. Macken previously attended The Beacon School

Wesleyan's awards, prizes, and scholarships program connects recipients to the legacies of alumni, administrators, faculty, and friends of the university whose lives and work are honored through endowed gifts. Recipients of the academic scholarships, fellowships, and prizes represent the highest ideals of Wesleyan--intellectual curiosity, academic excellence, creative expression, leadership, and service.

Wesleyan University is a private, non-sectarian liberal arts university in Middletown, Conn. Founded in 1831, Wesleyan offers its 3,000 undergraduates and 200 graduate students a demanding educational environment characterized by boldness, rigor and practical idealism. At Wesleyan, distinguished scholar-teachers work closely with students in more than 45 fields of study. The university seeks to build a diverse, energetic community of students, faculty and staff who think critically and creatively and value independence of mind and the generosity of spirit. Located two hours from both New York and Boston, the campus overlooks downtown Middletown and the Connecticut River. For more information, visit welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on