Seven Locals Graduate from Tufts University

More local graduates make their hometowns proud...

MEDFORD/SOMERVILLE, MASS. - Nearly 1,500 undergraduate students were awarded degrees in disciplines ranging from the sciences and engineering to the humanities and fine arts during Tufts University's annual commencement, which featured an address by award-winning actress and activist Alfre Woodard.

The graduates from the School of Arts and Sciences and School of Engineering included:

  • John Kerns of Centerville with a degree in Computer Science (BS),
  • Christopher Wingard of Brewster with a degree in Environmental Studies (BA), Summa Cum Laude
  • Hiroto Watanabe of Yarmouth Port with a degree in Biology (BS), Cum Laude
  • Russell Shapiro of Oak Bluffs with a degree in International Relations (BA), Cum Laude
  • William Shackelford of Orleans with a degree in Applied Mathematics (BS), Magna Cum Laude
  • Trent Turner of Nantucket with a degree in Biomedical Engineering (BSBME), Magna Cum Laude
  • Ross Kamin of Falmouth with a degree in Economics (BA),

Tufts University, located on campuses in Boston, Medford/Somerville and Grafton, Massachusetts, and in Talloires, France, is recognized among the premier research universities in the United States. Tufts enjoys a global reputation for academic excellence and for the preparation of students as leaders in a wide range of professions. A growing number of innovative teaching and research initiatives span all Tufts campuses, and collaboration among the faculty and students in the undergraduate, graduate and professional programs across the university's schools is widely encouraged. welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on