Falmouth Police Officers Receive Medal of Honor

Both were shot while responding to a 2018 disturbance...
Governor Baker honors Falmouth Officers DeMiranda and Moore (FPD photo)

From the Falmouth Police Department:

Falmouth Police Officers Ryan Moore and Donald DeMiranda were recognized at the 36th Annual Trooper George L. Hanna Memorial Awards for Bravery with the Medal of Honor. The ceremony took place on October 18th at the Massachusetts State House.

In July 2018, Officers Moore and DeMiranda were shot while investigating a disturbance.

The Hanna Memorial Awards for Bravery is an annual award ceremony named after Trooper George L. Hanna, who lost his life serving the Commonwealth on February 26, 1983. Trooper Hanna began his career on October 15, 1974 and served nearly ten years with the Massachusetts State Police.

On Saturday, February 26, 1983, Trooper Hanna conducted a motor vehicle stop in the town of Auburn. Three men and two women were in the vehicle, and when Trooper Hanna removed the occupants for questioning, he was instantaneously shot six times by one of the male suspects. He died later that evening in a Worcester hospital, leaving behind his wife Marilyn, and three children, Deborah, Kimberly, and Michael. His three assailants are serving life sentences.

The Hanna Awards, which have been held annually since 1983, have become a symbol of prestige, within both the law enforcement community and the Commonwealth as a whole. It's an opportunity to publicly recognize the bravery of members of the law enforcement community who put their lives on the line by dedicating themselves to safety throughout Massachusetts.

CapeCodToday.com welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on CapeCodToday.com.