Cape & Islands Second Assistant DA receives 2013 Prosecutor of the Year Award

Sharon J. Thibeault honored by the Massachusetts District Attorneys Association
Second Assistant District Attorney from the Cape & Islands Office wins distinguished award.

The Cape & Islands District Attorney's Office announced today that Second Assistant District Attorney Sharon J. Thibeault has received the 2013 Prosecutor of the Year Award.  Ms. Thibeault was honored by the Massachusetts District Attorneys Association in May at their 19th annual Prosecutors Conference in Boston.

According to a release from District Attorney Michael O'Keefe's Office, Ms. Thibeault has been practicing law since she joined the office under then District Attorney Philip A. Rollins in 1992.  Since that time, Ms. Thibeault has served on several task forces and as the District Court Child Abuse prosecutor and the Chief District Court Prosecutor. In 1994 Ms. Thibeault named the Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) Prosecutor of the Year.

In 1996 she was promoted to the Superior Court where she began prosecuting narcotics and sexual assault cases.  In 2007, Ms. Thibeault was appointed by District Attorney O'Keefe to the position of Second Assistant District Attorney. As Second ADA, her responsibilities include supervising attorneys and investigations and trying major felonies. Second ADA Thibeault is also the Cape & Islands District Attorney's Office liaison to the State Police Crime Lab in addition to overseeing the Elder Abuse Unit and Disabled Persons Abuse Unit.

Second ADA Thibeault graduated from Suffolk University Law School and the College of the Holy Cross.

The recipient of the Prosecutor of the Year award is chosen by the eleven district attorney in the commonwealth, including the Cape's DA, Michael O'Keefe. welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on