Hyannis Fire District candidates night set for April 21

Hyannis Fire District election will be held on May 19

A Hyannis Fire District candidates night will be held on Tuesday, April 21 at 7 p.m. at the Barnstable Town Hall on Main Street in Hyannis. The event is sponsored by the Greater Hyannis Civic Association (GHCA). There are four candidates vying for the two positions left vacant by Joseph Chilli and Paul Sullivan on the Board of Commissioners. Both Chilli and Sullivan opted to not run for re-election this year.

The four commissioner candidates are Victor Skandi, Laura Cronin, Demetrius Atsalis and Chris Kehoe.

The two candidates for the moderator's position on the board are Deb Krau and Len Gobeil. That position became available when current moderator Hugh Findlay decided not to seek re-election.

The Hyannis Fire District consists of a five-person board of commissioners, a clerk/treasurer, a moderator and Fire Chief Harold Brunelle. The Hyannis Fire District is one of Barnstable five fire districts. The districts are special government units that are not part of the town's municipal structure, according to the Town of Barnstable website. 

Each candidate will have the opportunity to give a short presentation. A question and answer period will follow.

The event will give Hyannis Fire District voters the opportunity to get to know the candidates prior to the election on Tuesday, May 19. The election will be held at the Hyannis Youth and Community Center on Bassett Lane.

CapeCodToday.com welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on CapeCodToday.com.