Barnstable Channel 18 takes home four industry awards

Alliance for Community Media awards event took place in Nashua on Saturday
Recently, Barnstable Today earned two of four programming awards for Barnstable Channel 18. Screen shot featuring Barnstable Today host Sarah Mannal.

Barnstable Channel 18 racked up four awards at the Alliance for Community Media's Northeast Region Annual Conference and Trade Show. Channel 18's Sarah Colvin, Sara Mannal and Sarah Beal attended the event in Nashua, NH last weekend.

During the awards ceremony on Saturday, Channel 18 received awards in four different categories: 

  • 2nd place for "Distracted Driving" in the School/Education Category
  • 3rd place for "Seasons of Sandy Neck" in the Science, Health and Spirituality Category
  • 2nd place for "Barnstable Today: Green Briar Nature Center" in the Profile Talk Show Category 
  • 3rd place for "Barnstable Today: December 19, 2013" in the General Talk Show Category

Barnstable Channel 18 was competing with other community access stations in Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont and New York. Last year Channel 18 won three awards from programming.

Channel 18's staff produces a variety of programming including news shows "Barnstable This Morning" and "Barnstable Today" plus "Barnstable Voices", "Senior Compass" and "Seasons of Sandy Neck". "Barnstable Voices" chronicles the lives of longtime Barnstable residents, while "Senior Compass" offers informative programming for the town's senior population.

In addition to airing on local cable access and streaming on the Town of Barnstable website, "Barnstable Today" also appears on here

See the Channel 18 broadcast schedule here. welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on