Nominations sought for the 2011 Pioneering Women Award


The Senior Advisory Committee of Cape Cod Community College is seeking nominations for its annual Pioneering Women award, now in its sixth year.  The award honors a woman who has made outstanding contributions to family, community, and society, giving unselfish, lifelong dedication to blazing a pathway and changing the world.

Nominations must be no more than one printed page in length, and must contain a detailed rationale for the nomination, and the names, addresses and contact information for both the nominee and nominator. Nominations will be reviewed by The Senior Advisory Committee, who will then forward the name and nomination paper of their recommended recipient to President Schatzberg. Submissions will remain confidential throughout the process. Names of those not selected this year will not be released because they may be re-submitted in succeeding years.

Current students, faculty, staff, and trustees normally are not eligible for this particular honor because the College uses other mechanisms to honor members of these groups.

Mashpee Wampanoag Turtle Clan Mother and longtime tribal and community leader Amelia Bingham was honored in 2010. Past recipients have been: Jo Ives and Juliet Bernstein of Chatham, Cathy Pastva of Barnstable, Hope Brooks, MD of Forestdale, Beverly Myers Bailey of Mashpee, and Eleanor Grace of West Falmouth.

Please submit nominations to Linda Houle, Assistant to the President no later than Friday February 151th.  Written submissions may be sent to: Office of the President, Cape Cod Community College, 2240 Iyannough Road, West Barnstable MA 02668-1599.  Nominations may be submitted by email to: [email protected].

Courtesy of Cape Cod Community College. welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on