Mashpee Wampanoag Tribal Council Chairman elected for another four years

Cromwell trounces two opponents
Cedric Cromwell shown here celebrating in 2009, again claims victory following Sunday's Tribal Council election. Photo by David G. Curran.

After being postponed by the Blizzard of 2013, the Mashpee Wampanoag Tribal election was held on Sunday and according to a statement from the Tribe, the turnout was strong at 714 voters.

Cedric Cromwell was elected for another four years, beating his two opponents, David Pocknett and Richard Oakley by a large margin. Cromwell was elected as chairman of the Tribe in 2009 besting Putnam Peters and George "Chuckie" Green. He replaced the disgraced Glen Marshall who resigned from the position around the same time he pleaded guilty to federal embezzling, mail fraud and election finance charges.

The voters elected Jessie Little Doe Baird as their new vice chair.  Marie Stone was re-elected as secretary, Robert Hendricks was elected as treasurer and Charles "Bobby" Foster was elected as a new Council member.

Commenting on his win, Council Chairman Cromwell released the following statement:

"This is a huge affirmation of what we as a Tribal nation have accomplished as well as our vision for the future. I thank the citizens of the Mashpee Wampanoag Tribe for the trust they have placed in me, and I look forward to working with them hand in hand over the next four years as we continue moving our Tribe forward."

With the election behind them, the Tribe will focus on their proposed casino resort in Taunton.  The Tribe continues to work with the state on a revised gambling compact and Cromwell announced earlier this month that he received a "positive preliminary advisory" from the Federal Bureau of Indian Affairs.

"We welcome our new officers and Council member, and we'll get back to work first thing tomorrow," Cromwell said.

2013 Mashpee Wampanoag Tribal Council Election Results:

Cedric Cromwell - 442
David Pocknett - 242
Richard Oakley - 23

Jessie Baird - 362
Aaron Tobey - 319

Robert Hendricks - 328
Mark Harding - 225
Diane Johnson - 80
Angela Shwom - 75

Marie Stone - 240
Nellie Ramos - 55
Michelle Hughes-Fernandes - 64
Suzette Spinola - 172
Michelle (Shellie) Tobey - 176

Charles Foster III - 266
Selena Jonas - 240
Joanne Peters - 201 welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on