Three unanimously re-elected to Barnstable Municipal Airport Commission

Town seeks to fill one vacancy on the committee
The first JetBlue plane lands at Barnstable Municipal Airport in Hyannis last month. The airport commission recently announced reappointments and one vacany. Photo by Maggie Kulbokas.

This week, Barnstable Municipal Airport Manager Ronald "Bud" Breault announced the re-election of four members to the airport commission.

Ronald Persuitte of Barnstable Village was unanimously re-elected chairman of the Barnstable Municipal Airport Commission, according to a release from the town. Persuitte has been a member of the seven-person commission since 2007 and has piloted the group since 2012.

Commission members John Griffin and Robert O'Brien were unanimously re-elected to their posts as vice chairman and clerk, respectively. At a recent meeting, Timothy Luzietti was also re-appointed to a 3-year term, according to the release. The other two serving members are Mary Smith (until June 2015) and Michael Dunning (until June 2016).

The commission has been busy the last several years, overseeing construction and improvements at the airport, including the recent addition of direct JetBlue service from New York City to Hyannis. "These are demanding times at the airport, Persuitte said. "We will also continue to seek new ways to increase operating revenues."

One member, Donald Megathlin, did not seek reappointment, according to Bud Breault. The town is seeking to fill the vacancy and Breault encourages Barnstable residents with an aviation background or a pilot's license to apply.

The airport commission meets the third Tuesday of each month at the terminal in Hyannis. The meetings are open to the public and televised on Channel 18. welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on