Matt Patrick loses to Vinny deMacedo

Democrats lose two seats in the State Legislature


Democrats lose two seats in the State Legislature

Two Massachusetts House members have picked off the Senate seats currently held by Senate President Therese Murray and Senate President Pro Tempore Richard Moore.

Moore (D-Uxbridge) lost to Rep. Ryan Fattman (R-Webster), while former Rep. Matt Patrick (D-Falmouth) was bested by Rep. Vinny deMacedo (R-Plymouth) in a race for the seat held by Murray, who opted against seeking reelection. Sen. Stanley Rosenberg (D-Amherst) is expected to take over the Senate presidency in 2015.

"At this point, it looks like Dick Moore and Matt Patrick are the two Senate losses we're looking at right now," said Sen. Thomas McGee, a Lynn Democrat and chair of the state party.

McGee said Sen. Jason Lewis (D-Winchester) won reelection over Melrose Republican Monica Medeiros, while former Rep. Barbara L'Italien (D-Andover) kept outgoing Sen. Barry Finegold's seat in blue hands by beating out Selectman Alex Vispoli (R-Andover).

Sens. Kathleen O'Connor Ives (D-Newburyport) and Jennifer Flanagan (D-Leominster) also won reelection, McGee said.

Democrat Eric Lesser, a former Obama White House aide, declared victory over Republican Debra Boronski and independent Michael Franco in the race for Sen. Gale Candaras's seat. welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on