Yarmouth town election set for May 19

Five candidates are running for five open seats

The Town of Yarmouth will hold its annual town election on Tuesday, May 19. Polls for all seven precincts will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Yarmouth residents will vote for five candidates, all for re-election. There will also be one question on the ballot.

Two selectmen, Erik Tolley and Norman Holcomb are running for re-election this year for a three-year term. They are members of the five-person Yarmouth Board of Selectmen. The other three members have another year or two to serve (James Quirk - 2017; Michael Stone - 2016 and Tracy Post - 2016).

Stephen Edwards will be running for re-election on the Dennis-Yarmouth Regional School District School Committee for a three-year term.

John Reed will be running for re-election on the Yarmouth Housing Authority for a three-year term.

Voters will also tackle a school funding question on May 19: "Shall the Town of Yarmouth be allowed to assess an additional $323,921 in real estate and personal property taxes for the purposes of funding the Dennis-Yarmouth Regional School District assessment for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2015?"

Yarmouth residents who are not yet registered to vote for the election, have until Wednesday, April 29 to do so at the Town Clerk's Office. That day, the Town Clerk's Office will be open from 8:30 a.m. to 8 p.m. to accommodate voter registration requests. 

For more infomation about registering to vote before the May 19 election and about where you vote, visit the Town Clerk's webpage here.

CapeCodToday.com welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on CapeCodToday.com.