Cape Cod Baseball League playoffs begin today

Which team will be the 2015 champs?
The Brewster Whitecaps (above) will host the Y-D Red Soxs--last years CCBL champs in Brewster at 4 p.m. Monday. Maggie Kulbokas photo.

The Cape Cod Baseball League (CCBL) announced the seedings and playoff schedule Monday, marking the close of the 2015 regular season. According to the Cape Cod Baseball League website, the total seedings are as follows:

1. Orleans Firebirds - 63 points
2. Brewster White Caps - 49 points
3. Hyannis Harbor Hawks - 49 points
4. Bourne Braves - 46 points
5. Y-D Red Sox - 44 points
6. Chatham Anglers - 44 points
7. Wareham Gatemen - 36 points
8. Cotuit Kettleers - 34 points

Playoffs are best two out of three. The first round of playoff games will be on Monday, August 3. In the Eastern Division, Y-D will be at Brewster at 4 p.m. and Chatham will be at Orleans at 7 p.m. In the Western Division, Cotuit will be at Hyannis at 6 p.m. and Wareham will be at Bourne at 6 p.m. Round two will be on Tuesday, August 4 with Brewster and Y-D at 4 p.m., Orleans at Chatham at 7 p.m., Hyannis at Cotuit at 4 p.m. and Bourne at Wareham at 7 p.m. If needed, round three games will be played on Wednesday, August 5 with Y-D back to Brewster at 4 p.m., Chatham back to Orleans at 7 p.m., Cotuit back to Hyannis at 6 p.m. and Wareham back to Bourne at 6 p.m.

Round two games will begin on Wednesday or Thursday, depending on whether or not game three of the first round is required. Championship games will begin on on Friday or Saturday. 

Last season, the Y-D Red Sox were named the 2014 Cape Cod Baseball League champions after besting the Falmouth Commodores.

See the complete schedule on the CCBL website here. welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on